Browse our collection of over 922 broadcasts

What are the Five Love Languages?

Jan 11, 2022 / Communication     

When you try to convey love to your spouse, does the message get through clearly, or is it lost in translation?  You see, we’re all different.  What I consider a loving gesture—a nice gift—might not mean anything to my wife… not because she’s unappreciative, but because there’s something else that makes her feel loved…like when I tell her I appreciate her sacrifices for our family.  Dr. Gary Chapman says there are five “love languages”…words of affirmation, time, gifts, acts of service, and physical touch.  So learn the language that your spouse responds to best – you’ll be glad you did. For more great ideas for books to read, here are 10 books that have influenced my thinking.



The Family Minute is a daily radio feature that offers everyday advice on marriage, parenting, and family relationships.

Mark Merrill

Connect With Us